Monthly Archives: October 2012

Congratulations to Dr. Theresa Early, Doctoral Program Director at The Ohio State University College of Social Work, who was recently named chair-elect of the GADE Steering Committee and will begin serving as chair in April.  Functionally, the chair is the president of the organization and sits on the Leadership Forum in social work (the group of presidents of all the major national organizations including CSWE, NASW, BPD, SSWR, NADD, etc.).  Dr. Early will serve a two-year term. GADE is the Group for the Advancement of Doctoral Education.  All universities with doctoral programs in social work are the members of the organization.

Says Early about her new role: “I hope to lead GADE in partnering with other organizations around increasing national networks for professional development and dissertation funding for doctoral students.”

To read more about Dr. Early, click here.



The College of Social Work is hosting its annual Robert J. O’Leary Memorial Lecture on Thursday, October 25 at 6 p.m. in the Sanders Grand Lounge of the Longaberger Alumni House, 2200 Olentangy River Rd. This year’s speaker will be Dr. Michael Reisch of the University of Maryland School of Social Work. Consistent with the college’s mission, Reisch will speak on “The Search for Community and Social Justice in 21st Century America.” The event is free and open to the public. Free parking and CEUs are available. Interpreting services will be provided. A reception will follow.

For more information, contact James Carter at carter.684@osu.eduRead more

The College is proud to announce its 2012 Hall of Fame winners, all of whom will be honored on Friday, October 5 at The Ohio State University Faculty Club, starting at 5 p.m.


Distinguished Career Award Winners

Dr. Denise A. Goodman, PhD ’93

James N. Miller, MSW ’55

Dr. Joseph R. Palmer, PhD ’70, BSSW ’56

Dr. Glenn E. Rohrer, MSW ’73, BSSW ’66


Distinguished Recent Alumnus/a Award Winner

Angela K. Stoller-Zervas, MSW ’05


To read more about this year’s award recipients, click here.