News & Events

2016 Alumni Hall of Fame Inductees Honored

CSW 2016 HOF Luncheon StillsThe College of Social Work honored its 2016 Alumni Hall of Fame recipients at its annual Induction Ceremony, held on Friday, September 30, at Ohio State’s Fawcett Center. Each year, the college honors alumni who have gone above and beyond to make a difference in the world. These leaders are nominated by our alumni—nearly 14,000 social workers living in the United States and abroad.

This year, five alumni received the Distinguished Career Award and one alumnus received the Distinguished Recent Alumus/a Award. The 2016 Hall of Fame Award recipients are:

Distinguished Career Award

  • David R. Grove
  • Dr. Annette Jefferson
  • Ami Peacock
  • Jim Stahler
  • Kay Werk

Distinguished Recent Alumus/a Award

  • Jimmy Portner


Congratulations to these inspiring ambassadors! For more detailed information on each recipient, click here.



2016 Orientation Packed with Info, Food & Fun!

DSCF2445Nearly 300 College of Social Work students kicked off the 2016-17 school year during orientation at Stillman Hall on August 22. Staff and faculty were on hand to provide plenty of information and resources to undergraduate, MSW and PhD students throughout the day and answer students’ questions one-on-one. In between sessions, students were also invited to enjoy a cookout in the back lot. A group of staff, faculty and students even had time for a quick picture in front of the building. A good time was had by all! Have a great year, students!


Dr. Michelle Kaiser Addresses Food Security in Ohio State Alumni Magazine

MichelleKaiserlowresWhy should where you live determine how long you live? That’s one of the food security issues Dr. Michelle Kaiser addresses in the Ohio State Alumni Magazine’s July/August issue featuring a special report on food security.

Click here to check out her story. Also read the entire special report.

Kaiser was recently honored with The Ohio State University’s highest teaching award, the 2016 Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching. She was chosen out of more than 3,000 Ohio State faculty.

Faculty Lands $1.2 Million USDA Grant


Pictured left to right: Drs. Dabelko-Schoeny, Kaiser and Jarrott

Congratulations to Dr. Shannon Jarrott, Dr. Holly Dabelko-Schoeny (co-principal investigators) and Dr. Michelle Kaiser (consultant) for receiving a $1.2 million five-year grant from the USDA’s National Institute of Food and Agriculture through the Children, Youth and Families at Risk (CYFAR) program. The grant is for the project “Food for a Long Life: A Community-Based Intergenerational Project In Ohio and Virginia.” Jarrott, Dabelko-Schoeny and Kaiser will be using a community-based participatory action research (CBPAR) approach with intergenerational strategies to increase healthy food access, consumption and education for at-risk young children and their families living in high poverty areas in the Near East Side of Columbus, Ohio, and Lynchburg, Virginia.

“The Food for a Long Life project allows our college to harness the abilities of community partners and families to creatively address food insecurity issues through intergenerational strategies,” said Dabelko-Schoeny. “ Lasting change can only come from community-based participation and action where the expertise of those served, community leaders and the university is shared to create new ways to address pressing needs.”

Community partners include experts in early childhood development, nutrition and food security, community engagement, and intergenerational programming. Columbus partners include Franklin County Extension, Columbus Early Learning Centers, PACT, the Mid-Ohio Foodbank, and the Champion Intergenerational Enrichment and Education Center.

“We are excited to take what was learned in my current CYFAR grant (Transforming Relationships through Intergenerational Programs) to support the success and sustainability of Food for a Long Life,” added Jarrott. “That project lends invaluable practical and technical experience, training materials, and evaluation tools to Food for a Long Life. We look forward to continuing to build the knowledge base for utilizing intergenerational strategies to engage the community in responding to diverse needs and opportunities.”

Too Far Away to Attend Graduation? Social Work’s Live Feed Solves Distance Problem

No one wants to miss a loved one’s graduation, but what if you’re on the other side of the country or across the ocean?


The Ohio State University College of Social Work solved that problem for those faraway guests wishing to attend its annual pre-commencement ceremony known as the Evening of Recognition. More than 60 guests from all over the United States—17 states to be exact and as far away as Hawaii—streamed live to watch their graduating family and friends recognized, receive honors and walk the stage. In all, about 412 students receiving BSSW, MSW and PhD degrees were recognized at Mershon Auditorium. Onlookers, both in person and via the live feed, were also invited to tweet shout outs and well wishes to the graduates on a 12 x 16-foot screen displayed above the stage.

The college, known for being technology-forward, added live streaming and tweeting during the ceremony several years ago. The ceremony, unofficially themed “Look out world, here comes help!,” was a perfect blend of celebration, technology and social media at their best.

To watch the ceremony, click here.